Reservation
Start * 
End *
eMail *
Code *

Captcha
 
News & Events

from 08 to 16 november 2008
Salon Marjolaine
Bio & Sustainable Development
At the Parc Floral in Paris, the fair exhibition Marjolaine is the event of bio and eco-consumer responding to the needs of those who decided to make another choice of life and society.


from 15 to 23 november 2008
Week of Solidarity
The world is changing, and you?
The 11th week of international solidarity invites you to participate to more than 5000 original animations and friendly throughout France.


18 november 2008
"Children from here, children from elsewhere"
Game-animation created and hosted by Hum Anim, intervention at the primary school of Beauville (47) within the week of international solidarity in the class of GS/PA for children 5 and 6 years.


Prehistoric cave of Pech Merle...

  Pech Merle Padirac Photo Gallery  
 
The Prehistoric Cave of Pech Merle
Location and History

The cave of the Pech Merle is a prehistoric cave decorated located on the commune of Cabrerets. It opens in a hill (pech in langue d'oc) dominating the valleys of Sagne and That, in Quercy. Henri Breuil would have declared that « the painted room of the cave of the Pech Merle is like the Sixtine Vault of the limestone of the Lot ».

The Pech Merle Igue was known to the surrounding residents and was then surveyed several times before revealing all its secrets. The first room called « red room » because of its reddish concretions, was discovered between 1906 and 1914 by Henri Redon, medical student in Paris, accompanied by his cousin Mr. Touzery. The « painted cave » was then discovered September 4, 1922 by Andrew David, his sister Martha and Henry David Dutertre.

In 1949, Andrew David discovers the network Combel. Amedee Lemozi studying the paintings discovered.

It is classified a historical monument and is a major site of Paleolithic art in Europe.

The Art of Pech Merle

Large enough, the cave comprises two subsets located on both sides of the prehistoric entry:

  • in the east are visible red punctuations, horses, cat-like and, in a diverticulum called Combel, three imaginary figures evoking of the megaceros stags;
  • to the west a vaster and richer network, the only accessible one at the time of the tourist visits extends. It understands in particular a named composition black plank associating a horse, bisons and mammoths, many digital layouts with the ceiling, negative hands associated with punctuations as well as panel known as of the punctuated horses. This complex composition was undoubtedly carried out in several stages. It understands two horses, one directed towards the left, the other towards the line, accompanied of six black negative hands, signs and punctuations. A large fish in red fine feature comes to superimpose itself on the horse of right-hand side.

    This last was the object of a direct dating by the carbon-14, whose result is of approximately - 25,000 years BP. This date corresponds to Gravettian, which is compatible with others elements of which negative hands. However, it is possible that part of paintings and engravings of Pech Merle goes back to a more recent phase, namely Magdalenian.
Thus, materials and colors vibrate together with a subtlety intact since the Middle Ages.

Visit

Although the number of daily visitors is limited, Pech Merle is one of the major decorated Paleolithic caves that are open to the public. On site, the Museum of Prehistory Amedee Lemozi, labelised Museum of France, completes the visit of the cave. Many researchers have study the museum's collections, which offer an overview of regional prehistory.

In 2006, 72,000 people visited the cave. 1 600 m of tunnels and rooms are currently accessible to visitors.

Réservation
Arrivée * 
Départ *
eMail *
Code *

Captcha
 
Actualité

14 et 28 mars 2011 - 18:30
Conférence "les Hommes Préhistoriques, le Point de Vue d'un Chercheur"
Cahors

Marc Salvan Guillotin continue son cours sur Les Preraphaelites. Conférence organisée par les Amis du Musée de Cahors Henri-Martin.


Le 25 mars 2011 - 20:30
Récital de Piano par Alexandre Bodak
Cahors

Récital dédié à Franz Liszt dont c’est le bicentenaire de la naissance (1811-1886). Alexandre Bodak saura nous faire découvrir ce génie musical, virtuose et généreux transcripteur de ses contemporains, inventeur du récital et du poème musical, à travers des oeuvres descriptives qui nous conduiront du romantisme au mysticisme, d’une slavitude à une modernité d’écriture annonçant Ravel. Un grand moment de musique et de partage à ne pas manquer.


Grotte préhistorique de Pech Merle...

  Pech Merle Padirac Galerie Photos  
 
La grotte préhistorique du Pech Merle
Situation et Histoire

La grotte du Pech Merle est une grotte ornée préhistorique située sur la commune de Cabrerets. Elle s'ouvre dans une colline (pech en occitan) dominant les vallées de la Sagne et du Célé, dans le Quercy. Henri Breuil aurait déclaré que « la salle peinte de la caverne du Pech Merle est comme la Chapelle Sixtine des causses du Lot ».

L'igue du Pech Merle était connue des habitants environnants et fût alors prospecté plusieurs fois avant d'en dévoiler tous ses secrets. La première salle dite « salle rouge » en raison de ses concrétions rougeâtres, fût découverte entre 1906 et 1914 par Henri Redon, étudiant en médecine à Paris, accompagné de son cousin monsieur Touzery. La « grotte ornée » fut ensuite découverte le 4 septembre 1922 par André David, sa soeur Marthe David et Henri Dutertre.

En 1949, André David découvre le réseau du Combel. Amédée Lemozi étudie les peintures découvertes.

Elle est classée Monument historique et représente un site majeur de l'art paléolithique européen.

L'art de Pech Merle

Assez vaste, la grotte comporte deux sous-ensembles situés de part et d'autre de l'entrée préhistorique :

  • à l'est sont visibles des ponctuations rouges, des chevaux, un félin et, dans un diverticule appelé le Combel, trois figures imaginaires évoquant des cerfs mégacéros ;
  • à l'ouest s'étend un réseau plus vaste et plus riche, le seul accessible lors des visites touristiques. Il comprend notamment une composition nommée frise noire associant un cheval, des bisons et des mammouths, de nombreux tracés digitaux au plafond, des mains négatives associées à des ponctuations ainsi que le panneau dit « des chevaux ponctués ». Cette composition complexe a sans doute été réalisée en plusieurs étapes. Elle comprend deux chevaux, l'un dirigé vers la gauche, l'autre vers la droite, accompagnés de six mains négatives noires, des signes et des ponctuations. Un grand poisson en trait fin rouge vient se superposer au cheval de droite.

    Ce dernier a fait l'objet d'une datation directe par le carbone 14, dont le résultat est d'environ - 25 000 ans BP. Cette date correspond au Gravettien, ce qui est compatible avec d'autres éléments dont les mains négatives. Toutefois, il est possible qu'une partie des peintures et des gravures de Pech Merle date d'une phase plus récente, à savoir le Magdalénien.
C'est ainsi que matériaux et couleurs vibrent ensemble, avec une subtilité intacte depuis le Moyen Age.

Visite

Même si le nombre de visiteurs par jour est limité, Pech Merle fait partie des grottes ornées paléolithiques majeures qui sont ouvertes au public. Sur place, le musée de Préhistoire Amédée Lemozi, labelisé Musée de France, complète la visite de la grotte. De nombreux chercheurs viennent y étudier les collections du musée, qui offrent un panorama de la Préhistoire régionale.

En 2006, 72 000 personnes ont visité la grotte. 1 600 m de galeries et de salles sont actuellement accessibles aux visiteurs.